The minimum wage rates in Minnesota will rise starting on January 1, 2023, according to a statement from the Department of Labor and Industry in Minnesota.
Inflation-adjusted rates will be $8.63 per hour for other state minimum salaries and $10.59 per hour for big companies.
The $10.33 minimum wage for big employers will rise by 26 cents to $10.59.
Other state minimum wages, which presently total $8.42 for summer travel exchange visitor program, small employer, youth, and training salaries, will rise by 21 cents to $8.63.
Both of these increases total 2.5%.
According to Nicole Blissenbach, interim commissioner for DLI, “this raise is intended to assist minimum-wage employees stay up with inflation to better care for themselves and their families.”
Beginning January 1st, 2023:
- If a large employer’s yearly gross sales are $500,000 or greater, they must pay at least $10.59 an hour.
- When the employer’s annual gross earnings are less than $500,000, small companies are required to pay at least $8.63 an hour.
- Employees under the age of 20 may be paid the training pay rate for the first 90 days of their work, which is $8.63 an hour.
- Employees under the age of 18 may be paid the youth wage rate, which is $8.63 per hour.
Employers are obligated to provide each employee written notice of any change, including a change to the employee’s rate of pay, before the change takes effect as part of Minnesota’s employee notice law.