Legislative and county candidates set as filing closes

The candidate filing period for state legislative and county commissioner seats closed June 5 and the following candidates have filed for elective office in the Review coverage area.

In House District 39B, incumbent Kathy Lohmer, GOP, who is finishing up her fourth term as a representative, will be defending her seat against Shelly Christensen, DFL.

District 39B includes Lake Elmo, West Lakeland Township, Lakeland, Lake St. Croix Beach, St. Mary’s Point, Grant, Oak Park Heights and the eastern section of Stillwater.

The House District 43A seat will be defended by incumbent Peter Fischer, DFL, against former Maplewood mayor Robert “Bob” Cardinal, GOP. 

The two squared off for the seat in the 2016 election, with Fischer earning 55 percent of the vote in the two-way race. Fischer is now in his third term.

District 43A includes Maplewood precincts 1-9, White Bear Lake precincts 3-5, Mahtomedi and Willernie.


Incumbent Leon M. Lillie, DFL, is running to hold the House District 43B seat, seeking his eighth term. He will be competing against Rachael Bucholz, GOP, for the seat.

District 43B includes North St. Paul, Oakdale north of Tenth Street and Maplewood precincts 10 and 11.

Residents of House District 53A — which is made up of Landfall, Oakdale south of Tenth Street, most of the south Maplewood leg and the northeastern section of Woodbury — will be electing a new person to represent them in the House, one way or another.

DFL Rep. JoAnn Ward announced in January that she will not be seeking re-election to the Legislature. She is currently finishing up her third term.

Vying for the open seat will be Bill Dahn, GOP; Andy Turonie, GOP; and Tou Xiong, DFL. The two Republicans will square off in the Aug. 14 primary.

Turonie campaigned for the seat in 2016 and received 41 percent of the vote, while Ward skated to re-election with 59 percent.

Incumbent Stan Karwoski has filed for a bid to hold the Washington County Commissioner District 2 seat.

District 2 is made up of Birchwood, Pine Springs, Willernie, Landfall and Oakdale in addition to parts of Mahtomedi, Woodbury and White Bear Lake.

Karwoski won the nonpartisan seat in a special election held in 2016 to fill the remainder of the late Ted Bearth’s term. This time, Karwoski will be squaring off against Joe Delaney and Julie Ohs. The three candidates will be winnowed to two in the Aug. 14 primary.

Election Day is Nov. 6


– Aundrea Kinney can be reached at 651-748-7822 or akinney@lillienews.com

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here