St. Anthony-New Brighton School Board unchanged after election

The St. Anthony-New Brighton School Board race was for three open seats. 

The race began with five candidates filing for the election — three of those five were incumbents. 

But, after filing, challenger Dave Isaacson backed out of the race in order to throw his support — and that of his supporters — behind the only other challenger, Ben Philip.  

Isaacson’s plan didn’t work. The school board will retain the members it had before the Nov. 7 election. Barry Kinsey, Laura Oksnevad and Leah Slye, the incumbents, were easily reelected.

Slye was the election’s top vote-getter, winning 26 percent. Oksnevad racked up 24 percent. Longtime board member Kinsey, with 22 percent of the vote, won the third and final open seat. 

Even though Isaacson dropped out of the race to boost Philip’s campaign, Phillip finished fourth with 18 percent of the vote. 

Phillip’s vote total, though, wasn’t the lowest tally — Isaacson, who dropped out too late to have his name taken off the ballot, still amassed 7 percent of the vote. 


—Solomon Gustavo 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here