Few surprises in 2016 Roseville area elections

Jason Etten

Lisa Laliberte

Little Canada, legislative incumbents re-elected

While the presidential election zigged while much of the national media expected it to zag, Roseville Review area city, county and legislative elections largely maintained the status quo.

Voters in Little Canada rubber-stamped additional terms for longtime city council incumbents Michael McGraw and Rick Montour. McGraw won 2,512 votes, or nearly 39 percent of the vote, while Montour registered 2,234 votes, or 34 percent.

Challenger and self-described “internationally known government accountability and transparency community organizer” Andrew Henderson came in third in the race for two seats, taking home 25 percent of the vote. 

Henderson improved upon his showing in the 2014 Little Canada council race in which he won 320 votes in a field of seven candidates, by winning 1,640 votes this time around.

Little Canada Mayor John Keis ran unopposed for another term and won it.



In Lauderdale, another mayoral candidate ran without opposition; sitting council member Mary Gaasch will become mayor come the new year.

Current Mayor Jeffrey Dains, who’s been in the position since the 1990s, nabbed 600 votes in the three-way race for two council seats, or 39 percent of the total. 

He’ll be seated as a council member next year, along with newcomer Kelly Dolphin, who beat out Daniel Gumnit for the remaining council seat, winning 32 percent of the vote to his 28 percent.

Dolphin, 27, improved upon her showing in the 2012 Lauderdale council race, in which she earned one write-in vote.

The Lauderdale City Council will have an open seat come 2017, and the council, according to City Administrator Heather Butkowski, will appoint a person to carry out the remaining two years of Gaasch’s term.


Legislature and elsewhere

DFL Sen. John Marty, from Roseville, cruised to a 10th term in District 66 winning three-quarters of the vote against Republican challenger Carolyn Jass. Marty won nearly 20,000 more votes than Jass. District 66 consists of Falcon Heights, Lauderdale, most of Roseville and parts of St. Paul.

Longtime District 66A DFL Rep. Alice Hausman begins her 16th term in the house next year, having bested GOP challenger Jon Heyer by a margin of 69 percent to 31 percent. District 66A covers Falcon Heights, Lauderdale, most of Roseville and bits of St. Paul.

U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, a DFLer, won her ninth term, beating Republican challenger Greg Ryan 58 percent to 34 percent in the 4th Congressional District race. Legal Marijuana Now Party Candidate Susan Pendergast Sindt won 27,000 votes, or 8 percent of the vote.

In a re-match of 2012, Ramsey County Distinct 2 Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire beat Sue Jeffers for a second term on the county board. 

Though McGuire won her first term on the board by a margin of roughly 1,000 votes, this time around, she won by a margin of nearly 4,000 votes, retaking her seat with 55 percent of the vote to Jeffers’ 44 percent. District 2 is made up of Lauderdale, Little Canada, New Brighton, Roseville and parts of Mounds View and St. Anthony Village.


Mike Munzenrider can be reached at mmunzenrider@lillienews.com or 651-748-7813. Follow him on Twitter @mmunzenrider.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here