Tartan boys, Hill-Murray girls roll in lacrosse playoff opener


The Tartan boys and Hill-Murray girls lacrosse teams have their sights set on a trip to the state tournament and took the first step toward that goal last week. Both teams rolled in their playoff openers.



Tartan is the top seed in Section 4 and continued its dominance by taking down North 26-4 in the quarterfinals on June 2. The victory set up a semifinal game against fourth-seeded Stillwater.

North, the eighth seed, opened the post-season with an 8-7 victory over ninth-seeded St. Paul on May 31.

Hill-Murray’s boys team was the seventh seed in the section and fell 20-2 to second-seeded Mahtomedi in the quarterfinals.



Hill-Murray could easily have been the No. 1 seed but that honor went to Stillwater. The Pioneers landed the No. 2 seed and downed seventh-seeded White Bear Lake 12-5 on June 2. The win set up a semifinal match-up against third-seeded Roseville, which lost by two to the Pioneers in the last game of the regular season on May 25.

Fifth-seeded Tartan visited fourth-seeded Mahtomedi in the section quarterfinals but came up short, losing 8-5.

Ninth-seeded North lost its playoff opener 12-5 to eighth-seeded St. Croix Prep on May 31. The semifinals for both teams were held June 4, past the deadline for this edition of the Review. The section finals were June 7 at Roseville Area High School,


Brian Meyers can be reached at bmeyers@lillienews.com or 651-748-7819. Follow him on Twitter @BMeyersNews.


Section 4 boys lacrosse playoffs

First round

Game 1 — North 8, St. Paul 7



Game 2 — Tartan 26, North 4

Game 3 — Stillwater 4, Mounds View 3, OT

Game 4 — White Bear Lake 18, Roseville 1

Game 5 — Mahtomedi 20, Hill-Murray 2



Game 6 — Tartan vs. Stillwater

Game 7 — Mahtomedi vs. White Bear Lake


Championship game, June 7, 5:30 p.m.
at Roseville Area High School

Game 8 — Game 6 winner vs. Game 7 winner


Section 4 girls lacrosse playoffs

First round

Game 1 — St. Croix Prep 12, North 5



Game 2 — Stillwater 20, St. Croix Prep 1

Game 3 — Mahtomedi 8, Tartan 5

Game 4 — Roseville 14, Mounds View 5

Game 5 — Hill-Murray 12, White Bear Lake 5



Game 6 — Stillwater vs. Mahtomedi

Game 7 — Hill-Murray vs. Roseville


Championship game, June 7, 7 p.m. at Roseville Area High School

Game 8 — Game 6 winner vs. Game 7 winner


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here